Discovery of Harm in Relation to Statutes of Limitations in New Jersey
Statutes of limitations refer to the amount of time an injured person has to file a claim after an accident has occurred. This amount of time may range anywhere from 1 to 6 years depending on the state in which the injury occurred. However, one exception is the discovery of harm rule. A New Jersey personal injury lawyer can advise you of how it may apply to your case.
In some cases, people do not know for weeks, months, or even years later that they have been harmed. This often occurs in medical malpractice cases, but may also occur in some car accidents when X-rays or tests performed years later show head trauma or other internal injuries.
Because of how the discovery of harm rule works, the statute of limitations clock could potentially start ticking at three different times. The earliest date would be the actual date the accident and related harm occurred. The second would be the date when the plaintiff should have been aware of the harm. The last date the statutes of limitations would start would be the day the harm was discovered by the plaintiff. For more information, see our article about how the statute of limitations works.
If you are a victim of an accident and are concerned about whether you are still within your time limits, contact New Jersey personal injury lawyer Manfred F. Ricciardelli, Jr., LLC. He has 20 years of experience helping New Jersey residents. First, read our free eBook, What the Injured Worker Needs to Know. Contact him today at (877) 360-0183.
Post a comment
Post a Comment to "Discovery of Harm in Relation to Statutes of Limitations in New Jersey"To reply to this message, enter your reply in the box labeled "Message", hit "Post Message."