Q How long do I have to file a workers’ comp claim in New Jersey?
If you suffered an on-the-job injury, the deadline to file a workers’ comp claim in NJ may not be the only timeline you should be concerned about. Consider the following schedules and time limits for suffering an injury at work:
Important Deadlines For Workers' Comp Claims
- Under New Jersey workers’ compensation law, employees must report injures to their supervisors within 14 days of the accident. You can notify the employer in writing or by simply telling him that an injury has occurred. If you are unconscious after the accident or are taken to emergency care before notifying your employer, you should report the incident as soon as possible.
- The Division of Risk Management (DRM) must be notified after any accidents or incidents that involve property damage or serious bodily injury. If there is a direct need for medical treatment after an accident at work, DRM should be notified within 24 hours of the employer’s knowledge of the event.
- If you are considering filing a claim against your employer for failure to pay eligible workers’ comp benefits, you should understand that there is a statute of limitations. The time period is usually two years from the date of the accident. However, the time period may be extended to within two years of the employee’s claim denial or failure to receive payment, or even two years of the last payment of any compensation an employer provided for a work-related injury.
Ask A Workers Compensation Lawyer
Injured workers should also realize that there are further deadlines and requirements involved if you wish to pursue a case against your employer or appeal your workers’ compensation decision. To find out what steps to take next in your case, click the contact link at the top of this page or download our FREE book, What the Injured Worker Needs to Know: Your Workers’ Comp Guide.
Read a Recent Google Review